- Health Department
- Car Seat Program
Car Seat Program
The Spencer County Health Department offers free child safety seats for children that meet low income financial eligibility. Since the child safety seat program began, in April 2004, the health department has provided more than 3,000 car seats to protect the children in this community. The car seats are available to children from newborn through 8 years old.
The Health Department requires the correct height and weight of the child to fit him/her into the proper seat. To set up an appointment to be fitted for a child safety seat please call 649-4441. Child must be present for appointment with proof of assistance.
Indiana Child Passenger Law
Indiana Child Passenger Law, IC 9-19-11, which took affect on July 1, 2005, states that:
- Children from birth to age 8 must ride in child restraints.
- Children 8 to 16 years old must use child restraints or seat belts.
- This law applies to all vehicles including trucks and SUV’s.
- This law applies to all vehicle seating positions.
- Booster seats can protect a child from severe injuries or death in a crash.
- Booster seats must be used with a lap/shoulder belt. The shoulder belt should lie flat between the neck and shoulder and the lap belt low over the upper thighs.
When to Use an Adult Seat Belt
A child is ready to use a seat belt when he/she can sit all the way back on the vehicle seat without slouching. The child’s knees should hang over the edge of the vehicle seat. This is usually when a child is about 4 feet 9 inches tall. A properly fitting lap/shoulder seat belt will lie flat on the upper thighs and between the neck and shoulder.
To learn more about child safety seats and permanent fitting stations log on to Prevent Injury.